Brief History:

Maharashtra United Nations Association (MUNA) was established in 1964 at Mumbai to promote the objectives of the United Nations and its Specialized Agencies. It is a Non-governmental, Voluntary, Nonprofit Organization working for International Peace and Understanding. The founding officer bearers were Late Mr. M.S. Kannamwar (the then Chief Minister), Late Mr. H.H. Ismail (the then Consul General of Dominican Republic) and Late Mr. Mr. S.B. Saxena was the first Secretary General of MUNA.

The first women president of United Nations General Assembly and the then Governor of Maharashtra H.E. Mrs. Vijaya Laxmi Pandit was the first Patron of MUNA, H.E. Mrs. Pandit not only accepted to be the Patron ship of MUNA but also donated an Ivory Trophy which was presented to her by the people of Mumbai when she was the President of United Nations General Assembly. It was later named after Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru to be used for the cause of children who were dear to him.

Noted Politician Late Mr. Homi Taleyarkhan former Cabinet Minister and Ambassador of India to Italy, Libya and to Food and Agricultural Organisation of United Nations was the Vice President of MUNA for long time. Mr. S.D. Pandey, the then Honorary President of World Federation of United Nations Association (WFUNA) took the lead alongwith Mr. S.B. Saxena to establish MUNA.

Maharashtra United Nations Association (MUNA) is affiliated with Indian Federation of United Nations Associations (IFUNA) in New Delhi and with the World Federation of United Nations Associations (WFUNA). IFUNA is the only body to represent India in the U.N. Forums. IFUNA was founded by Late Sh. Acharya Narendra Dev who was a political thinker and social reformer and was inaugurated by the then Prime Minister Mr. Jawaharlal Nehru.1962. At present IFUNA is effectively running under the dynamic leadership of our Secretary General of IFUNA Mr. Suresh Srivastava.